REALITY

I’m frustrated. I want to be the best mom that I can be. I want to manage my home simply, economically, and efficiently. But somehow things, people, circumstances aren’t cooperating with my master plan. And it is robbing me of joy.

I find myself angry, impatient, and discontent. What do I do? “SLEEP!” I hear you all screaming at me. Easier said than done when you have a baby who struggles with sleep herself.

One thing that helps me function better as a mom, wife, friend, homemaker (even when tired), is to come to grips with reality.

I have a nine month old baby. There are some things I have learned to accept:

I may not get as much sleep as I would like.
The kitchen and bathroom floors will rarely be spotless.
I will not get everything done that I used to get done.

Ah, I already feel some more joy seeping in. (Except for the bathroom part, that’s just gross!)

What makes me unjoyful is if I don’t accept the nature of my current life. Sure, we can have established quiet times (now being one of them- hence me being able to write this.) Sure, Grace isn’t sleeping very well! Sure, I miss being able to go out to dinner with my hubby with out having to plan ahead so much.

But, I need to have an accurate picture of my reality as a mother of this wonderful baby girl. If I buck the circumstances that aren’t really mine to change, I will find myself disgruntled at best, angry at worst.

I can be a more joyful mom if I embrace the things that make my family unique.

This entry was posted in Daily life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

