Meditation experiment

Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.
-Author Unknown

Last year Brandon and I decided to challenge ourselves by adopting one habit for a month. Every month it was something different. For example, one month we gave up meat. Another month we had at least one salad a day. I tried to give up nail biting for a month, but to no avail. So, this year I am continuing with this challenge. In January I decided to journal every day. I skipped 3 days the whole month. It felt so good to get up each morning and journal about my dreams, what I was thinking about upon waking or what I was going to do that day. My only rule was I had to journal for at least one page.

In February I committed to being more conscious of the food I eat (hence the nifty meal planning magnets I made!) So far I’ve been pretty good on that front. I’ll continue to post my progress here.

I know that I am ahead of schedule, but I am already thinking about what I want to do in March. I’m thinking about doing something that is good for my spirit since the first two months of the year have been good for my mind and body.

So since January was Journal month, February is Food month, I though March could be Meditation month. (Notice the alliteration!)

When I was preggo I meditated times a day for 15 minutes or more each time. This practice really helped me when I was in labor. Maybe it helped a little too much since Grace graced us with her presence VERY quickly. Since she has been here though I have sort of lost touch with my meditation practice. I tried to meditate today and it was so hard! So, I thought that I would use you guys to keep me accountable. Also, Aunt Betsy (Brandon’s aunt- mine too!!!) is taking a meditation class and she inspired me to start meditating again. Hi Betsy! Thanks!

So… long story short, I want to create some guided meditations for you to do with me. Now, I won’t post them every day, but maybe every Monday. Meditation Mondays in March πŸ™‚ Can I get an MMMMMMM HMMMMMMM?!

So, please get ready to experience some joy. Close your eyes and press play. Press play and gently close your eyes as you breath deeply and listen.

Joy meditation

This is my first attempt. Now, bear with me. I know it’s not great quality or fleshed out very well. They will get better I promise. I’d love your feed back on what kind of guided meditations you would like to explore.

This entry was posted in meditations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meditation experiment

  1. Chelsea says:

    OMG!! Your voice is so relaxing!!!! I’d LOVE a body scan where you work through your body – really slow – and over like 7-10 minutes. That’s a long time to talk. πŸ˜› I’ve been wide awake tonight (it’s 12:26am) and hearing that made me relaxed – THANK YOU! Headed to sleep! Wow! I’d love a longer one to help my whole body to relax!!!!! If you’re taking requests, that is!! I LOVE IT!!! Your voice is so calming…..where’s the repeat button?!?!?!?! πŸ˜€

  2. body scan comin’ right up (in March!)

  3. Betsy says:

    What great timing! I finished the last of my meditation classes last night and I loved it but I left wanting more. How great to see the new habit for March is meditation! I love it and I love your voice, very soothing and relaxing. I’ve been using this http://www.innerhealthstudio.com/index.html site for meditation ideas. They have lots of great scripts there. Since I tend to worry and I’m trying really hard to let that one go, most of my meditations have to do with anxiety and relaxation. I like breathing and guided visualization meditations the best but I can honestly say I’ve enjoyed every one that I’ve done. I agree with Chelsea, a body scan would be great. Thanks Isabelle! I’m looking forward to March πŸ™‚

  4. Betsy, you and me were made from the same cloth! JUST this morning I discovered that site! I plan on using some of their scripts for my posts. I too struggle with anxiety and use meditation to help relieve feelings of overwhelm.

    again, body scan post coming soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

