Thinking Meditation

3:12 thinking meditation

My mind tends to fall into grooves and I lately I experience a lot of anxious thoughts. This is exhausting! Meditating helps me acknowledge it though- and when I know I am doing something I can change what I’m doing. I also tend to go into list making mode when I’m meditating so I wanted to create a meditation where I can allow myself permission to actually let this type of thinking happen. The underlying emotion turns from a tightness in my chest to a sense of freedom and openness. What happens for you?!

Note: When the instruction is “bring your attention to your thinking” notice if thoughts come faster or slower. Is it irritating or peace inducing? I know, I’m weird, but this is really fascinating to me. At first, when I give my mind the freedom to think I just want to run away, stop meditating. It’s uncomfortable to sit there and watch all my anxious thoughts come up. But when I stick with it and stay with my breath I am able to turn towards the thinking mind and figure out how my mind works and the knots slowly start to unravel. Does this happen to you too? I’m curious about your experience.

Advice: turn toward the discomfort when you see it rear its ugly head. Face it, don’t run away.

The workload of most people is grueling at times, and we can’t always change the actual circumstances we find ourselves in. It’s a tragedy for us to wish away these precious, once-in-a-lifetime days, yet I know I’m not the only one who has wasted time with thoughts like, “If only Grace weren’t se cranky all the time”, “if only I could sleep through the night with out having to deal with a crying baby”, “if only Brandon would help me out more.” When we fall into negative thought patterns like these, we run the risk of living life through “someday” lenses. We push our happiness and joy away. I hope this meditation helps you to pay attention to your thoughts rather than believe them. It helps me anyway.

This entry was posted in meditations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinking Meditation

  1. Pingback: Simple Mindfulness « Getting Better, Man

  2. Betsy says:

    I listened to this for the first time tonight and really enjoyed it. I had a rough day at work today and had lots of negative thoughts that I was glad to let go of after I did this meditation. When I meditate why do I always in the first few minutes get a tickle in my throat and want to cough, and then my leg or arm will itch and I want to scratch .Sometimes it seems to go on and on. Does this happen to you? It’s so distracting and annoying! It only last a few minutes until I relax but it always happens. Strange.

    • joymommy says:

      Glad you enjoyed it. Still having trouble with background noise, but it’ll get better 🙂

      I can totally relate to the throat tickle and itchy body parts. I think this happens because our bodies are not used to us relaxing the mind.

      It’s as if they go “Oh, she’s really paying attention to me now so I’m going to give her all these sensations that she usually ignores because she’s moving too quickly.” Take them as a good sign, that is what is supposed to happen.

      Becoming totally engrossed in all the little twitches of my body and breathing into them rather than resisting them is SO hard, but the more I do it the better I get at it. When I do that kind of meditation I usually come out of it tingling. Just make sure that you don’t berate yourself for clearing your throat or scratching an itch.

      Find a place in your mind where you can be playful with yourself. Maybe even allow the corners of your mouth rise a little (into a smile) when you feel yourself fighting bodily sensations. Treat that frustrated part of yourself like a child who is learning something new. When Grace gets frustrated with herself it is much better for both us us if I stay calm and relaxed rather than rush over to her and help her. It’s OK to be frustrated.

      Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

