SHELLY

Percy Bysshe Shelley was a poet who wrote about passionately living our lives every day.

I love how his poetry speaks to me, as does his life- he took up causes, risked his fame and his life and drank up every moment of his life. All things I aspire to (well maybe not risking my life!)

Here is one of my favorite poems of his:

Love’s Philosophy

The fountains mingle with the river,
And the rivers with the ocean;
The winds of heaven mix forever
With a sweet emotion;
Nothing in the world is single;
All things by a law divine
In another’s being mingle–
Why not I with thine?

See, the mountains kiss high heaven,
And the waves clasp one another;
No sister flower could be forgiven
If it disdained its brother;
And the sunlight clasps the earth,
And the moonbeams kiss the sea;–
What are all these kissings worth,
If thou kiss not me?

Isn’t that beautiful!

It conveys a glimmer of the passion in his heart. I long for this kind of passion and joy in my own life and find Shelly to be an incredible example.

This poem teaches me to really feel the love I have for those I adore and to express it to them with fervor, otherwise live my life in frustration. LOVE is a state of bliss that we usually equate with sexual romantic feelings when they are shared with our lover. All the kissing, clasping, and mingling are Shelly’s metaphor for this state of bliss.

Why, he implies, would you choose the frustration of not expressing those feelings? I can recall the aching I have felt at various times in my own life when I have not expressed the love that I feel. For whatever reason I hold back my feelings. Sometimes it’s out of fear that they won’t be returned or because I’m just too tired. Being married with a new baby (is she still new if she’s 11 months old?) it is sometimes hard to experience let alone express passion towards Brandon. But when I do my life feels so much better. It feels like I’ve died and gone to heaven when we make the time for long embraces and lingering kisses. That is why date night has been so important for us.

I think Shelly may also be talking about passion in other areas of life too. He speaks of a joyful heart that is able to appreciate the beauty in our world and all of those we feel connected to. He is describing the idea not that this is the first day of the rest of your life, but that this is the ONLY day of your life- which I believe it is.

And he tells us to share our passion, because a shared joy is a way of doubling one’s joy. Hence why I am sharing things that bring me joy with you.

Please share what YOU are passionate about!

This entry was posted in book reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

