raising happiness- Every yes is a no!

I want to raise my baby girl to be happy. This woman seems to have some great ideas on how to do that.

I also want to raise Grace to not be as people pleasing as I am. I say yes to a lot of things that don’t bring me or my family happiness because I don’t want to let someone down. In order to do that I have to teach by example. So, this summer is my chance to practice because I know there are going to be a lot of people wanting to do a lot of activities with Grace and me (cuz we are really that cool!) time management and managing what I will allow on my plate is so essential so that I don’t spin out- like I have sometimes been known to do.

Here is a fun little activity. Take a piece of paper and on one side write a big yes. Ont the other side write a big no. The next time someone asks you something hold up the paper with the yes facing them. You’ll see that the no is facing you. Now, who do you really want to say yes to now? So often you can’t say yes to both.

I have this internal issue with self care and generosity. Self sacrifice that is not checked turns to self-neglect. I’s ok if the no sometimes faces me, but it can’t be as often as it has in the past. Otherwise Grace will learn to spin out of control in the same way that I have. If I always have no facing me I am not able to give my best to ANYONE.

What is your summer mantra? Mine is: “Probably no, but I’ll think about it.” This is a great way to set boundaries without having to say yes or no right then and there. Because every time I say yes to something I also say no to something.

This entry was posted in Daily life, links i like, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

