A letter to my dad

Happy Father’s Day!!!

Dad, I love you for an infinite number of reasons. I feel so blessed to have you as my dad and I’m thankful for the wonderful life you have given me. In honor of Father’s Day, I would like to celebrate you: a magnificent man, a loyal, loving husband, a devoted father, and a true friend. Please know that my list of gratitude is endless and continues to grow with each passing day.

Thank you for falling madly in love with Susan Geston and marrying her 35 years ago. Thank you for showing me that news headlines are not the norm; men can actually love women faithfully and unconditionally – for a lifetime.

Thank you for knowing how to make a “Daddy, Daughter Day” a great day.

Thank you for providing me with a never-ending list of books on wisdom that we can talk about.

Thank you for constantly telling me how much you love me.

Thank you for crying in front of me.

Thank you for playing dolly with me as a kid.

Thank you for coming to watch me play sports, and thank you for always cheering so loud that I knew it was undeniably your voice emanating from the bleachers (even if you forgot our team’s name.)

Thank you for teaching me the importance of meditation.

Thank you for raising me to know the importance of play.

Thank you for being such a great provider for our family.

Thank you for teaching me the power of humor and how to effectively tell a joke. (What’s invisible and smells like worms?)

Thank you for taking me on trips with you.

Thank you for tightening my palet-spreader with a key.

Thank you for always telling me I am beautiful.

Thank you for telling such cool stories about Elleb, Eissej, and Yelyah. (My sister’s and my names backward.)

Thank you for teaching me the importance of humility, and the remarkable power of emotional and financial generosity.

Thank you for stressing the importance of not taking myself too seriously.

Thank you for telling me that you were so proud of what a good student I was.

Thank you for embarrassing me at my wedding by “ooooooming.”

Thank you for teaching me how to make “sweet eyes” and do magic tricks like removing my thumb.

Thank you for your honesty.

Thank you for loving your siblings and being an example to my sisters and I.

Thank you for loving and accepting your friends despite and BECAUSE of their quirks.

Thank you for loving and accepting my husband despite and BECAUSE of HIS quirks :).

Thank you for loving and accepting me and always making me feel like I am good enough.

Thank you for showing me what is means to be a good man, a great actor, an extraordinary husband, and an outstanding Dad for the past 30 years of my life.

I love you, Dado.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

