Day 2- Just me and my shadow

English: Diagram illustrating the influence of...

English: Diagram illustrating the influence of dark-light rythms on circadian rythms and related physiology and behavior. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

How did yawning go? I found that just by making the intention to yawn more I DID, without trying. And then that yawn reminded me to slow down. Well, maybe I yawned cuz I was tired. But that is just my intuition telling me that I need to rest. Right?!

Did you know that 70 percent of  the body’s sense receptors are in the eyes? I know that for myself sight is a very important sense. I cannot even imagine how different my life would be if I were blind. It is mainly through seeing the world that I size it up and understand it. Today I want to explore the idea of there being more to life than meets the eye.

Another fun eye fact: When you look at bright light (sunlight) nerve cells in your retina send messages to your brain’s internal clock and this helps your body’s circadian rhythm balance out. The circadian rhythm controls the timing of your brain’s release of cortisol and other hormones that make you alert during the day and melatonin, that puts you to sleep at night. I’m thinking all I need to do to sleep better is take in a little more vitamin sunshine 🙂

Ever since I committed to spending 15 minutes a day outside I’ve been sleeping better. Now I know why!

Another thing that brings me joy is looking around at all the beauty in my current surroundings. The simple beauty.

• a nicely set table

• amazing parenting books

• the remains of a three course meal made by my hubs

• a recipe for a one-pot meal I plan to make tomorrow

• a silly limerick in one of Gracie’s books

• the pretty cover of me home management binder

• decorations

• the way the towels are folded on the counter top

• juicy blue berries waiting to me eaten

So with out further ado… (and because the blueberries are beckoning)

ASSIGNMENT:

Stare at your shadow (or, if you can’t find that, a reflection cast from the sun will do) for a few moments. Is it difficult or easy to focus on something so vague? Describe what you see in the comments. Or not. 🙂

EXTRA CREDIT:

Brandon has been working really long hours lately, so I’ve been spending a lot of time alone (with Grace!) What do you like to do when you are alone? Does being alone, with your shadow or baby, make you feel like something is right or wrong?

This entry was posted in 40 days, assignments. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 2- Just me and my shadow

  1. girlthattalks says:

    I rarely enjoy being alone. Only when I first wake up, sometimes when I feel something like frustration really strongly, or when I’m not feeling well and just want to sleep. When I’m home alone, I find I search for someone to spend time with. A good lesson that maybe I’m not okay with just me and my shadow. I’d like to think I am but I wonder why I’m more comfortable with others. When I’m alone I feel I need to be accomplishing something…perhaps I need to practice being alone at home, having FUN!

  2. Betsy says:

    That’s funny. I was yawning at work all day too! I took it one step further and added a stretch to my yawns. It felt so good. The extra credit question is easy. Since I live alone my answer is I do everything alone. Lucky for me, it’s not a problem. I like the freedom that comes with it and I even enjoy doing things that you would normally do with a husband or friend. I don’t consider myself lonely or unhappy, although I probably talk to my two cats a little more than your average person 🙂 Some fun things that I enjoy doing alone are:

    Taking a walk in the park (or anywhere for that matter, just being outside and in nature)
    Read
    Listen to music
    Meditate
    Surf the internet
    Make some jewelry (my new hobby)
    Go to the movies
    Watch TV
    Exercise/Yoga
    Shopping
    Go out to lunch or dinner (this one used to bother me but not anymore)

Leave a Reply

