Day 11: Checking in

Congratulations, you have finished the first quarter of your joy journey. Over the last 10 days I have asked you to really look inside yourself and I’ve encouraged you to do some things that you may have never done before. (Did you do any of them?! Which assignments did you like? Which did you not care for?) I know that for myself, when I introduce a new set of behaviors I often don’t feel quite like myself. As I follow my intention to slow down I actually feel more out of sorts, anxious and even a little lost. NOT what I expected at all! But I think it’s pretty normal. As I step away from some of my ingrained routines, like eating too fast or not taking in the beauty around me, I realize how chaotic my life is. So, at day 11 I find myself in a state of limbo. I guess you could call it a state of incubation.

How (if at all) have the last 10 days inspired of informed your intention?

A big part of feeling authentically joyful is being able to tell yourself the truth. Sometimes the truth involves confronting discomfort or even pain. So, I am dedicating the next 10 days to searching for our inner truths.

My own truth: I am feeling very stir crazy. I love being a stay at home mom, but I spend all day thinking about and doing things for other people. I feeling like I am slowly loosing parts of myself. I’ve been doing some self reflection to prepare for the next 10 days and I’ve come to the conclusion that what contributes to my feelings of loosing myself and the discomforts that surround it are the liberal layers of mommy guilt and self-recrimination. I easily find faults with myself and get stuck inside the drama of my life. I KNOW that self-acceptance and forgiveness are the way to true joy… Which leads me to my latest intention: To trust my feelings and to follow where they lead.

Young Housewife, Oil on canvas. The Russian Mu...

Young Housewife, Oil on canvas. The Russian Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

OK, so I just shared my own truth. Care to play along and share some of your truth here? It’s a safe place, I promise!

It’s pretty common to deny parts of ourselves that we find unacceptable. So let’s just lay it all on the table. My intuition tells me that if we do we will most certainly see parts that we don’t like, but we will also see parts that we do like that we may have never acknowledged before. Remember, it takes sand to make a pearl!

You see, when you transform your inner world, your outer world is transformed as well!

ASSIGNMENT:

Most of us keep our dark side hidden. Keeping parts of ourself in the dark stunts our growth, and isn’t life all about growing!? Facing the good, the bad, and the ugly will help you foster self-love and acceptance.

Choose a physical place where you stash things you don’t want seen. Maybe a junk drawer, an over stuffed garage, or a closet. Ask yourself what purpose it is serving? Why can’t you throw this stuff out?

EXTRA CREDIT:

Take everything out of your “dark spot” and de-clutter!

Report back how you feel.

This entry was posted in 40 days, assignments. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

