Day 18: Do something different

napping

napping (Photo credit: demandaj)

Today, Grace decided not to take a nap. Not a single one, until… 5:30PM! ARH! Bedtime is usually between 7:00 and 7:30 pm and we have dinner reservations at 7:30. I was going to put her down early and hoped she would be asleep the entire time the sitter was here. So now the sitter will have to put her down.

It was also the first day she used the word, “no!” about fifty million times.

So, I’m taking a deep mommy breath.

See, the thing is, I don’t like it when things are different. One of the reasons my favorite movie is ground hogs day is (for the most part) I actually like it when my day is predictable. I like knowing that at 10:30 we go for a walk, then at 12:30 we eat lunch…

Well, life with a baby is teaching me that predictability is something I can no longer count on. And when I had that aha moment I also had a sudden shift in my anxiety level. It’s OK if things don’t work out exactly as I expect or want them to. It drains my energy MORE if I try to control things and people in my life rather than accepting them the way the are.

ASSIGNMENT:

Notice what drains your energy-physical, metal, or emotional. Ask yourself: Why am I doing this? Is this really what I want or need to do or am I doing it out of habit? Stand up and shout “NO!” while shaking your head. (Or, if you are around other people, you can just shake your head and say no quietly to yourself.) Shaking your head will release tension, caused by stress, in your neck AND remind you that when you say “no” to something that is no longer working you open up space for something new and beautiful to come forth.

EXTRA CREDIT:

Say a quick prayer that Grace is nice to the babysitter.

This entry was posted in 40 days, assignments, Daily life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 18: Do something different

  1. girlthattalks says:

    I’m learning that no isn’t a bad word. I’m working hard on saying it more especially because my body is failing from saying yes too much. Great exercise – asking myself more, “Why am I doing this?”

Leave a Reply

