Day 25: Letting go

Have you seen the show Horders? It’s so sad to me to see how emotionally painful it is for those people to throw stuff out, even stuff that is broken (snapped rubber bands to burnt out light bulbs!)

Clutter

Clutter (Photo credit: 2000Scooby)

And yet, I do the same thing! I hold on to craft supplies that I haven’t used in years, thinking that ONE DAY I might want to scrapbook again.

I have similar clutter in my mind. I hold on to old ways of thinking because I am used to those thoughts. If I mentioned these thoughts out loud I would be humiliated, yet I’m still ¬†telling myself the same painful thoughts that no longer serve me.

ASSIGNMENT:

Imagine you have a huge cardboard box. Fill it up with your mental and physical clutter. What does this mean for you?

Add to it feelings of pride and resentment along with those old magazines that you no longer read. DO NOT deceive yourself (like so many hoarders do!) Ask yourself, honestly, what is no longer necessary? Clean off everything, including thoughts that no longer serve you, and examine them with new eyes. Decide whether or no to keep them. If you choose to let them go, do so mindfully. Notice if they creep back in and repeat the process if they do.

English: Rubber bands in different colors. Stu...

English: Rubber bands in different colors. Studio photo taken. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This entry was posted in 40 days, assignments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

