Day 28: The giving tree

English: Palm tree in Paramaribo.

English: Palm tree in Paramaribo. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I was home this past weekend, visiting my parents, Grace and I happened upon one of my favorite books- The Giving Tree. Flipping through it again made me realize that I would like to emulate that tree. I would like to be able to give whole heartedly.

The Giving Tree

The Giving Tree (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

ASSIGNMENT:

What character qualities do YOU want to develop? Could be generosity, like me. Or maybe balance or strength. Go outside and find your own tree, rock or leaf to emulate. Pick up your chosen object (or just touch it) and ask it for advice. “Oh beautiful palm tree, I need to be flexible like you. Please teach me to bend with the wind so I don’t break.” I know it sounds a little silly, but can be fun. Be playful.

Comment here what your piece of nature has to teach you.

This entry was posted in 40 days, assignments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 28: The giving tree

  1. Laurie says:

    My tree taught me to be still and know.
    I gave it a great big hug and said “thank you and I will visit often.”

Leave a Reply

