The Art of Happiness book Review

Tenzin Gyatso (14th Dalai Lama) 2008, 2005 & 2...

Tenzin Gyatso (14th Dalai Lama) 2008, 2005 & 2004 (Finalist in 2009) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is the only book I have read by the Dalai Lama and I will make a point to read more by him. I’ve loved watching him over the years on TV and appreciate his sweet smile and peaceful point of view.

I actually like the voice of Dr. Cutler in this book because he is just another, average person seeking happiness. Many of the his comments were those I would have asked myself and I found his point-of-view very helpful. He played the sceptic many times and asked for clarification concering the ideas of the Dalai Lama much like I would have.

As I expected, the concepts of this book are simple. That does not mean that they are easy though. If you choose to read this book please do not expect something profound and life changing. For me, its simplicity also speaks to the simplicity that is is at the heart of our existence- we are human beings not human doings. The message of this book is not entirely new but needs repeating and is the reason I started this blog: The Dalai Lama says, “I believe that happiness can be achieved through training the mind… Generally speaking, one begins by identifying those factors which lead to happiness and those factors which lead to suffering. Having done this, one then sets about gradually eliminating those factors which lead to suffering and cultivating those which lead to happiness.”

Being human, we need to practice the ideas found in this book to achieve balance in our lives.

This entry was posted in 40 days and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

