GROWTH = HAPPINESS?!

I just found this quote by William Butler Yeats:

Happiness is neither virtue nor pleasure not this thing nor that, but simply growth. We are happy when we are growing.”

September Rose

(Photo credit: Arlo Bates)

And it struck me as incredibly true!

Have you experienced this?

I am about to embark on a yoga teacher training (starting in September you can expect a lot of posts on how yoga can help you feel more joyful!) and I am super stoked. Just the thought about learning something new about a subject I feel really passionate about fills me with an incredible sense of jubilation and awe for how wonderful life is. Honestly, I haven’t felt that way in…. hmmm, I don’t remember the last time I felt that way.

It is just such a great reminder to me that the attainment of my goal isn’t really what will bring me happiness. It’s the process of striving for that goal (whether it’s to learn to cook healthy food,  to organize my garage or to stop biting my nails- my constant goal!)

 

en: Portrait of young William Butler Yeats by ...

en: Portrait of young William Butler Yeats by his father, John Butler Yeats pl: Portret młodego Williama Butlera Yeatsa autorstwa jego ojca, Johna Butlera Yeatsa (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This entry was posted in Goals, izims and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

