Forgiveness

I’d like to put a P.S. on my last post about letting friendships go…

Forgiveness is a huge part of friendship. After giving myself time to recover from being disappointed by my friend I feel ready to forgive her for not being the way I wanted her to be. In forgiving her I set both of us free. The Course in Miracles says that “all dis-ease comes from a state of un-forgiveness.” and that “whenever we are ill, we need to look around to see who it is that we need to forgive.”

I often find that the person I find hardest to forgive is the one I need to let go of the most.  Forgiving my friend doesn’t mean that I condone the way she treated me, but it allows me to stop thinking about it all the time.

The space I’ve allowed myself to take from her has taught me that she is also coming from a place of pain and suffering. She was only doing the best that she could with the understanding, and knowledge that she had at the time.

Is there anyone in your life that you need to forgive? If so, share your experience here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

