Lowering expectations= more joy

Forgiveness Mandala by Wayne Stratz

Forgiveness Mandala by Wayne Stratz (Photo credit: Nutmeg Designs)

A lesson that I’ve been learning over the last month or so is that people will do and say hurtful things to me, things that I don’t deserve. When someone mistreats me it usually makes me feel the opposite of joy. Crappy might be a good word for that feeling 🙂

BUT… When I view the mistreatment as an opportunity to grow it brings me back to that joyful feeling I am always after. The little trick I do with myself is to see how quickly I can forgive the one who has wounded me. I’ve gotten much better at this with practice and have already written about forgiveness here. Just being mindful about my occasional concern about setting the record straight makes me feel better. It reminds me that instead of obsessing about other people’s opinions of me, I can keep my focus on what I know is true about me. Ultimately, it is my view of me that leads to feeling joyful or “crappy.” Right?

What do you do when you have been treated unfairly?

This entry was posted in izims and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lowering expectations= more joy

  1. Laurie says:

    Try to remember all the blessings that surround me and joy i have found in the past..

Leave a Reply

