Day 3

;

Stress Less home button

Today we are going talk about using our diet to stress less.

;

But before we do I have a confession to make… my intention to keep my TV off for a week backfired after the first day! (Gasps all around?) I ended up putting a baby sign language video on for Grace to watch so I could fold laundry. At first I felt really bad about it, like I was some how failing. Then I asked myself, is letting Grace watch an educational video for a half hour making me more or less stress. And the answer was clear- LESS STRESSED! So, I’m going to let it slide. Being easy and compassionate with myself also leads to less stress and… more joy!

;

OK, back to Day 3…

;

Before I was pregnant with Grace I was a vegetarian. And I was totally content eating my whole grains and salad while everyone else had a steak. I didn’t really want meat- especially red meat. But that all changed when I got pregnant. I NEEDED meat. My body craved it. It tasted soooo good. So, for the past year and a half I have been a carnivore.

;

From the studying I have been doing on the subject I have found that a carnivore diet can create a lot of stress on the body AND on the planet. Melanie Joy, author or Why We Love Dogs, Eat Pigs, and Wear Cows, came up with the term “carnism.” It is the belief that enables us to eat some animals and not others. And it made me think, why is a dog’s life more precious that a pigs?

;

It’s not going to be easy to make the vegetarian lifestyle change, but I am challenging myself to do it for a week (Nov 3- 9.)

;

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in ...

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in products such as soy milk and low-fat yogurt, has been shown to reduce breast cancer incidence in rats. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

ASSIGNMENT:
What change are you willing to make in your diet to experience less stress?! If you are looking into becoming a vegetarian yourself I suggest that you don’t quit meat all at once. You might try eliminating one type of meat at a time like we have been doing for a year now with Meatless Mondays. Or you could eat meat free a few times a week.

Tonight we are having tortellini soup for dinner. What is your meat free meal plan?

;

Speaking of meal plan, check out this video about how simple changes in our diets can improve our overall health dramatically.

Are you doing your breathing!? How’s your media fast going?

;

;

;

;

;

;

This entry was posted in 30 days to Stress less and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

