Day 7

How are you sleeping?

Some fun facts about sleep:

  • You dream EVERY night, even if you don’t remember your dreams.
  • The best time time to be asleep is 10pm to midnight according to Ayurveda.
  • Women need more sleep than men. (Because they work harder?)

    sleep

    sleep (Photo credit: Sean MacEntee)

Tips on getting more and better sleep:

  • Milk and Honey Sleep Remedy 

1 glass warm milk
1 drop vanilla extract
1 teaspoon honey
Use this just before going to bed. Mix, then drink while it is still warm.

  • Take a relaxing bath with a bit of lavender oil. I like to take baths with Gracie Lou, but occasionally I will take a grown up bath with calming oil. It puts me right out.
  • Lack of exercise can contribute to poor sleep, although avoid exercising at night. Even doing yoga at night can increase adrenaline levels. I like to limit my exercise to the first portion of my day. Read more about exercise and insomnia here
  • Avoid eating within an hour or two of bedtime, if possible. I go to bed so early so this isn’t always doable, but I do eat a fairly small dinner most nights.
  • Write down your thoughts! I have found that I can often lose sleep because I am distracted with my to-do list for the next day. Keeping a journal right by my bed helps me get those things off my mind by writing them down. I also write in my journal every morning using Julia Cameron‘s morning pages.
  • Pray! – I’m not a very “religious” person, but I have so greatly appreciated the prayers of friends and family  when I am going through a hard time. Recognizing that there is something bigger than myself has helped me greatly in just relaxing and trusting that sleep WILL COME. If you do wake up in the night, use it has an opportunity to pray for others.
  • Cover the clock! This was a new concept for me, but it really made a difference! It just increased my worry and anxiety about lost sleep as I stared at the hours ticking by …2am…4:30am…etc.

ASSIGNMENT:

Pick one tip and do it for a week.

{NOTE: I’m thinking about ending this stress less series early due to a lack of input. I’ll come back to it at a later date.}

Night & Sleep

Night & Sleep (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

